Our History

The Office of the Health Complaints Commissioner was established in 1997 by the Health Complaints Act 1995.

The Act required the Commissioner to develop a draft Charter of Health Rights and Responsibilities.  The Charter was tabled in Parliament in 1999. It sets guidelines to balance the rights and responsibilities of the providers and consumers of health services, and to strengthen the relationship between them.

Since the publication of the Charter, the Australian Charter of Healthcare Rights has been published by the Australian Commission on Safety and Quality in Health Care. The Australian Charter was endorsed by Australian Health Ministers in July 2008. With its adoption, it is likely that a State Charter will no longer be required.

These people have held the position of Health Complaints Commissioner:

Damon Thomas                                                 1997 to 2000

Jan O'Grady                                                      2001 to 2005

Robyn Hopcroft                                                 May 2005 to August 2005

Richard Bingham - Acting                                 November 2005 to July 2006

Simon Allston                                                     2005 to 2012

Richard Connock - Acting                                  February 2012 to March 2012

Leon Atkinson-MacEwen                                   March 2012 to March 2014

Richard Connock - Acting                                  September 2013 to November 2013

Richard Connock - Acting                                  February 2014 to July 2014

Richard Connock                                               July 2014 to current