This page provides links to the principal legislation which applies to the work of the Health Complaints Commissioner.

The first link is to the Act under which the Commissioner operates.  This is the Health Complaints Act 1995.

Under this Act, the Commissioner is required to consult with health registration boards in relation to complaints against registered health practitioners. From 1 July 2010, Tasmania has participated in a national scheme for the registration of certain health professions. This scheme is administered by the Australian Health Professionals Regulation Agency (AHPRA), which supports fourteen national registration boards -

  • Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Health Practice Board of Australia
  • Chinese Medicine Board of Australia
  • Chiropractic Board of Australia
  • Dental Board of Australia (dealing with dentists, dental therapists, dental hygienists, oral health therapists and dental prosthetists)
  • Medical Board of Australia
  • Medical Radiation Practice Board of Australia
  • Nursing and Midwifery Board of Australia
  • Occupational Therapy Board of Australia
  • Optometry Board of Australia
  • Osteopathy Board of Australia
  • Pharmacy Board of Australia
  • Physiotherapy Board of Australia
  • Podiatry Board of Australia
  • Psychology Board of Australia

The national scheme has arisen from the application in Tasmania of the Health Practitioner Regulation National Law Act 2009 (PDF, 1.31MB, New Window) of the Queensland Parliament. The implementation of the national scheme in Tasmania has involved two principal pieces of legislation - the Health Practitioner Regulation National Law (Tasmania) Act 2010 and the Health Practitioners Tribunal Act 2010.

Links to each of the Acts just mentioned are set out below.